Mobile app
Plan your visit to the Museum, check out current events and visit our exhibitions with our Mobile App.
Download Close

Delfina Jałowik on the jury of the Vordemberge-Gildewart Award 2020

Published at:24.02.2020

The annual Vordemberge-Gildewart Foundation scholarship competition for artists under the age of 35 has been held in different European countries since 1983. MOCAK organised the event in 2011 and 2018. The Polish artists awarded in these two editions received a total of 110,000 Swiss francs (equivalent to 450,000 PLN). This year’s competition was held, in the Netherlands, for the third time. In the earlier editions in the country, in 1989, the winner was Guido Gellen, and in 2000 – Mark Manders.

On 22 February 2020, a meeting of the eight-person jury appointed by the Foundation took place at the Kunstmuseum Den Haag in The Hague. A representative of MOCAK, head of its Art Department, Delfina Jałowik, was invited to participate in the session. The competition exhibition at the GEM Museum of Contemporary Art, a branch of the Kunstmuseum, showed works by the ten shortlisted artists 10 artists from Belgium and the Netherlands. The first prize, of 60 thousand Swiss francs, was awarded to Nadia Guerroui (b. 1988). The award of 10,000 Swiss francs was given to Eva Gioli (born 1991). The exhibition runs from 23 February to 5 April 2020, showing works of the : Salim Bayri, Deborah Bowmann, Bob Eikelboom, Ricardo van Eyk, Eva Giolo, Nadia Guerroui, Sharon Van Overmeiren, Emma van der Put, Dan Walwin, and Charlott Weise. More information >>

In 2011, MOCAK organised the first Polish edition of the Vordemberge-Gildewart Foundation scholarship competition.  It was attended by 15 artists. The works of the shortlisted 15 artists were presented at the Vordemberge-Gildewart Foundation Award exhibition. From among them, the international jury appointed by the Foundation Council selected three winners: the first prize (20 thousand Swiss francs) was awarded to Anna Okrasko, and honourable mentions (at 10,000 Swiss francs each) – to Róża Litwa and Jan Dziaczkowski. In 2018, MOCAK – for the second time – has been invited to run the competition. Sixteen artists had been selected for the exhibition Nagroda Fundacji Vordemberge-Gildewart 2018. Diana Lelonek was awarded the first prize, of 40,000 Swiss francs, to. Honourable mentions, of 15,000 Swiss francs, went to Maciej Cholewia i Małgorzata Goliszewska.